10
Sep
FAQs for version 1.14.5
Posted on September 10, 2013
FAQs for version 1.14.5

On 10th of September 2013 Avandrive released version 1.14.5 of our desktop software. This was the biggest change we have made to our software to date and included a redesigned Settings window.

 

The new Settings window will make it easier for new customers to use the software. As with any major user interface change, we have had some customers asking where certain features are in the new menu.

 

To help you navigate 1.14.5 we have prepared some answers to the most commonly asked questions below:

 

Where have all the settings tabs gone?

 

In older versions of the Avandrive software we gave all Backup, Storage and Pro users the same Settings Window. With the new software we have only given users’ access to the information they need. This means that Backup and Storage users will now have a few less tabs than Pro users. We have not removed features, we have simply made it easier for you to find the features that you need. The image below shows the Pro Settings window.

 

 

How do I access the Manage Backups window?

 

To access your Manage Backups screen on Windows simply right click on the icon in the task bar at the bottom right of your screen, and select “Manage Backups” from the menu. If you are using a Mac OS X computer simply click on the Avandrive icon on the top menu and select “Manage Backups”.

 

 

How do I access the Status window?

 

To access your Status screen on Windows simply right click on the icon in the task bar at the bottom right of your screen, and select “Status” from the menu. If you are using a Mac OS X computer simply click on the Avandrive icon on the top menu and select “Status”.

 

 

How do you start and stop the Avandrive software?

 

We now enable users to stop and start their Storage and their Backups independently. On Windows simply right click on the icon in the task bar at the bottom right of your screen and select “Settings” from the menu. On the Settings screen click on the “Services” tab and then click on the on/off switch next to the word Backup or Storage. Once you are happy with the selection click on the “Apply” button at the bottom right of the window.

If you are using Mac OS X device simply right click on the Avandrive icon on the top menu and select “Settings”. On the Settings screen click on the “Services” tab and then click on the on/off switch next to the word Backup or Storage. Once you are happy with the selection click on the “Apply” button at the bottom right of the window.

 

The Settings window does not enable you to stop both Storage and Backup at the same time. If you wish to stop the software entirely or log out and log into a new account on Windows, simply right click the Avandrive icon in the task bar and select “Logout”. On Mac OS X devices click on the Avandrive icon on the top menu and then select “Logout”.

 

 

Is Avandrive running?

 

A quick way to see if Avandrive is running on your Windows computer is to right click on the Avandrive icon on your task bar. If the menu has 10 options you are logged in. If you only have “log in”, “Restore” and “Exit” as options, you are currently logged out of your account.

If you are using a Mac OS X machine you can simply click on the Avandrive icon on the top menu. If the menu has 10 options you are logged in. If you only have “log in”, “Restore” and “Exit” as options, you are currently logged out of your account.

The image below shows the software when it has been logged out.

 

 

If you have any further questions please contact our 24hr support team by submitting a ticket here.

 

 

 

Start your business now!
Take control of your future and start generating more income.
Compatible with any device.
View and edit files on your Avandrive from any web browser on your computer, mobile and tablet.
Compatible with any device